Slide background
Slide background

Transforming Society

Securing Rights

Restoring Dignity

Media Advisory: Commission’s Investigative Inquiry into the State of Service Delivery within Local Municipalities in Mpumalanga

 Attention: Editors and Reporters

4 November 2021

From 27 September 2021 to 1 October 2021, the Commission in Mpumalanga conducted an investigative inquiry into service delivery challenges within local municipalities in Mpumalanga. The inquiry followed service delivery complaints against various local municipalities in Mpumalanga over the years. The issues raised in the various complaints included the failure by municipalities to provide water and housing, sewage spillages, sewage treatment challenges, electricity outages, non-collection of refuse and potholes on the roads.

The inquiry will be continuing on 8 and 9 November 2021, with the hearing of evidence from the municipalities that did not appear before the Commission on the first leg of the inquiry, along with the evidence from other entities whose evidence is considered pertinent to the Commission’s investigation.

During this leg of the inquiry, the Commission expects to receive evidence from the following municipalities and entities: Dr JS Moroka Local Municipality, Chief Albert Luthuli Local Municipality, Steve Tshwete Local Municipality, Dipaleseng Local Municipality, Victor Khanye Local Municipality, Thaba Chweu Local Municipality, House Traditional and Khoisan Leaders, Stats SA, Department of Water and Sanitation, National Treasury and the Provincial Treasury.

The follow-up inquiry will be held at the Commission’s offices at First Floor Allied Building, 34 Brown Street, Mbombela.

The follow-up inquiry will be followed by site inspections within the local municipalities in the Ehlanzeni District. The site inspections are to be conducted as follows:

Nkomazi Local and Mbombela Local Municipalities

10 November 2021

Mbombela Local Municipalities and Bushbuckridge Local Municipalities

11 November 2021

Thaba Chweu Local Municipality

12 November 2021


The areas to be visited in the Nkomazi Local Municipality include Malelane, Komatipoort, Driekoppies, Mangweni, Mbuzini, Naas, Mananga and Dludluma. The areas to be visited in the Mbombela Local Municipality include Barberton, Kabokweni, Chweni, Chochocho and Kamajika. The areas to be visited in the Bushbuckridge Local Municipality include Xanthia, Burlington, Shatale, Thulamahashe, Acornhoek, Mapulaneng and Dwarsloop. The areas to be visited in the Thaba Chweu Local Municipality include Graskop, Sabie, Matibidi, and Mashishing.

The dates for the site inspections in the other districts will be announced in due course.


For further information or enquiries, please contact: SAHRC Mpumalanga Provincial Manager, Mr. E Mokonyama (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; 073 585 5944).


The South African Human Rights Commission.

Follow the SAHRC

About us

The Human Rights Commission is the national institution established to support constitutional democracy. It is committed to promote respect for, observance of and protection of human rights for everyone without fear or favour.

Braampark Forum 3, 33 Hoofd Street, Braamfontein

011 877 3600 (Switchboard)

Sign- up for our monthly Pfanelo newsletter